The games of life

You know the reason I didn’t choose this week as a designated activity was because way back in Week 1, gaming conjured up images of online role playing games of which I have no interest at all. If you had asked me was I interested in games, the answer would have been an emphatic NO! But the activity, commentary and discussion around INN333 this week has changed my mind. The concept of a game as a learning or information tool had never really entered my mind (DUH!). Little did I know, that my mildly obsessive personality was perfect for engaging with a week of playing a game. And it’s been fun too. Luckily I skipped delving into any of the “ville” Facebook games or else I might have a severe addiction by now. Still, if I look back over my life until there have been some gaming highlights. Card games of 500 with my grandfathers where they played to win despite the fact that my brother and I were still in primary school are an early memory. Then there was Trouble, Snakes and Ladders, Uno (which still marks all family gatherings and is HIGHLY competitive), the Mad Magazine board game (loved so much that recently my brother bought an old copy on ebay after my mother threw ours away when we left home), Boggle, Scrabble, Monopoly (of course), Trivial Pursuit (at which I am highly competitive), Pictionary (at which I am very bad – surprise!) and a recent love of Trivia nights. So, surprise surprise, I might classify myself as a gamer after all just not really a Web 2.0 gamer. Little did I realise that these games were teaching me things! I thought I was just having fun. Who knew that we could learn stuff and have fun at the same time! Not me πŸ˜‰

But then, wait a minute….what’s that Wii doing in my lounge room? Surely, I haven’t bought a game-playing console? It seems I have. It’s teaching me that I’m quite lazy and that the Wii fit DVD will gather plenty of dust if left unused. And what about Angry Birds? That’s a game. What have learned from playing it on my phone or iPad? Well frustration mainly, and a realisation that I still have no idea about the laws of physics, motion, energy or how you break those big glass contraptions with the pigs in them.

So I do have a life that has been shaped by games and gaming after all. Thank you INN333 Week 12 and all your participants for raising my awareness of the game.

14 thoughts on “The games of life

  1. I was the same Wendy – I’m not really interested in games at all. I didn’t mind playing adventure kind of games when I was younger, like Spyro, but I’ve never really been one to embrace them. Even card games, or board games. I’ve never really gotten into them.

    This week has definitely changed my mind about their usefulness in educating people who otherwise might not have had that opportunity. I’ve never stopped before now to consider what games can teach people or what games can be used for, and this week has made me do that. I think it’s a good lesson to learn this early in our studies – we should keep our minds open in regards to what various Web 2.0 technology can do within the library environment, and what sorts of benefits it may have.

  2. Hi, I’m a “Gamicker” and my name is Fiona.

    Gawd where do I start in replying to your post Wendy. It is so good to see eyes open and awareness sink in when logically putting things into place mentally.

    Playing games has prevailed throughout my entire life span. The mere mention of Scrabble (still play it to-date), Monopoloy (I’m the Shoe! No the Shoe is mine. What hotel do ya wanna buy? Which Street?) ahahaha One always had to watchout who was banker of course lol πŸ˜‰

    Gaming. Its seems to be an essential part of life, so why not make it essential to learning πŸ˜‰

    Have you ever read the book entitled “The Game of Life – and how to play it” by Florence Scovel Shinn. Introduced to Australasian Edition by Dr David A Phillips?

  3. It actually makes me think of the novel ‘Ender’s Game’ – have any of you guys read that? It’s sci fi but it’s really interesting, and it revolves around games and strategy.

    • Kate, have you read that book I muttered?

      Life is just a game and how you play it – err trust me πŸ˜‰

      And, I’m onto you and your tomfoolery… Mwwwahahahaha.

      πŸ˜‰

  4. Gaming has been used as a learning tool for years. Simulators have been used regularly since just prior to World War 2, where pilots learned to fly and dogfight by using simulators. Our Australian military still uses first person shooter games to train its soldiers. Before there were guns and video games children were playing with toy bows and swords. It seems like a proven principle with a lot of new applications.

  5. Hi Wendy! I used to like games.. But when i grew older.. the interest just dies. With all complexity and me losing all the time.. i felt old. :p Life is all one big gamification. See those people being brokers in bank.. Its like a game! But its just the reward is in cold cash! πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Kate! Yes imagine if you were giving away a car…the competition would be fierce indeed πŸ˜‰

    Hi Jen…I hadn’t even thought about training in organisations like the military…excellent point.

    Aloysius…banking does seem to be a game in many ways doesn’t it…just with bigger consequences for those involved!

Leave a Reply

