in which our heroine uses QR codes at QAG

Yes that’s correct. I am a social media, Web 2.0 failure. For until Sunday morning I had not been at all bothered with QR codes. I didn’t choose that weekly activity last year during Information Programs. And I am the kind of person who keeps forgetting what the Q and R actually stand for. I think the little squares are aesthetically interesting. I have a smart phone. What was holding me back from jumping on the QR code bandwagon? Well, they seemed like a bit of a gimmick, an extra, superfluous to my information needs. Of course, that was my untried and untested opinion.

So on Sunday morning when I popped along to the Modern Woman exhibit at the Queensland Art Gallery I decided I should make a slightly more informed opinion about the codes and actually try them. Verdict?

Well it was simple enough to download the QAG app and reader after my snap decision once I was actually in the exhibition. And the technology worked beautifully. It was probably a pity that I didn’t have headphones with me though because I had to hold my phone up to my hear so I didn’t disturb the other visitors to the exhibition. That meant while I could hear the little talk that added to my knowledge of the art, I missed seeing the extra images (given that the phone was stuck to my ear). I also found that by the time I had scanned the code and started listening I had actually already seen enough of its accompanying artwork and was ready to keep moving around the exhibition. I felt that I had to stand there though until I finished listening to the extra bits before moving on or my experience of the exhibition would have been “out of synch”. This disrupted the flow of my experience of the exhibition to some degree. I don’t know that I will bother with them again in a gallery setting.

Do I need to try QR codes again in a different setting? Yes I probably do. Am I going to put that at the top of my list of things to do? Probably not. I might save that up for a rainy day.

Leave a Reply

